Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0832. பேதைமையுள் எல்லாம் பேதைமை

0832. Pethaimaiyul Ellaam Pethaimai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பேதைமை (Pethaimai)
  • குறள்
    பேதைமையுள் எல்லாம் பேதைமை காதன்மை
    கையல்ல தன்கட் செயல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறியாமைகள் எல்லாவற்றுள்ளும் பெரிய அறியாமை, தனக்குப் பொருந்தாத செய்கைகளில் ஆசை கொள்ளுதல்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'Mid follies chiefest folly is to fix your love
    On deeds which to your station unbefitting prove.
  • Meaning
    The greatest folly is that which leads one to take delight in doing what is forbidden.


Post a Comment