Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0831. பேதைமை என்பதொன்று யாதெனின்

0831. Pethaimai Enbathondru Yaathenin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பேதைமை (Pethaimai)
  • குறள்
    பேதைமை என்பதொன்று யாதெனின் ஏதங்கொண்டு
    ஊதியம் போக விடல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறியாமை என்று சொல்லப்படுவது, யாது என்றால், கேடு தருகின்றவற்றைக் கைக்கொண்டு, இலாபம் தருபவற்றைக் கைவிடுதலாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    What one thing merits folly's special name.
    Letting gain go, loss for one's own to claim!
  • Meaning
    Folly is one (of the chief defects); it is that which (makes one) incur loss and forego gain.


Post a Comment