Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0833. நாணாமை நாடாமை நாரின்மை

0833. Naanaamai Naadaamai Naarinmai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பேதைமை (Pethaimai)
  • குறள்
    நாணாமை நாடாமை நாரின்மை யாதொன்றும்
    பேணாமை பேதை தொழில் .
  • விளக்கம்
    நாண வேண்டியவற்றிற்கு நாணாமையும், ஆராய வேண்டியவற்றை ஆராயாமையும், அன்பின்மையும், விரும்பிக் காக்க வேண்டியவற்றைக் காவாமையும் அறியாமையுடையவனின் செயல்களாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Ashamed of nothing, searching nothing out, of loveless heart,
    Nought cherishing, 'tis thus the fool will play his part.
  • Meaning
    Shamelessness indifference (to what must be sought after), harshness, and aversion for everything (that ought to be desired) are the qualities of the fool.


Post a Comment