Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0749. முனைமுகத்து மாற்றலர் சாய

0749. Munaimugaththu Maatralar Saaya

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரணியல் (Araniyal) - Essentials of a State
  • அதிகாரம்
    அரண் (Aran)
    The Fortification
  • குறள்
    முனைமுகத்து மாற்றலர் சாய வினைமுகத்து
    வீறெய்தி மாண்ட தரண்.
  • விளக்கம்
    போர் நடக்கும் இடத்தில் பகைவர் அழியும்படி, உள்ளே நிற்பவர் செய்யும் போர்ச்செயலால் உயர்வு பெற்றுச் சிறந்ததே அரண்.
  • Translation
    in English
    At outset of the strife a fort should foes dismay;
    And greatness gain by deeds in every glorious day.
  • Meaning
    A fort is that which derives excellence from the stratagems made (by its inmates) to defeat their enemies in the battlefield.


Post a Comment