Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0750. எனைமாட்சித் தாகியக் கண்ணும்

0750. Enaimaatchith Thaagiyak Kannum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரணியல் (Araniyal) - Essentials of a State
  • அதிகாரம்
    அரண் (Aran)
    The Fortification
  • குறள்
    எனைமாட்சித் தாகியக் கண்ணும் வினைமாட்சி
    இல்லார்கண் இல்லது அரண்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அரண் எல்லாச் சிறப்புக்களையும் உடையதாயிருப்பினும், செயல் செய்பவர் சிறப்பிலர் என்றால், அரண் இருந்தும் இல்லாதது போலாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Howe'er majestic castled walls may rise,
    To craven souls no fortress strength supplies.
  • Meaning
    Although a fort may possess all (the above-said) excellence, it is, as it were without these, if its inmates possess not the excellence of action.


Post a Comment