Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0748. முற்றாற்றி முற்றி யவரையும்

0748. Mutritru Mutri Yavaraiyum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரணியல் (Araniyal) - Essentials of a State
  • அதிகாரம்
    அரண் (Aran)
    The Fortification
  • குறள்
    முற்றாற்றி முற்றி யவரையும் பற்றாற்றிப்
    பற்றியார் வெல்வது அரண்.
  • விளக்கம்
    முற்றுகையிட வல்லவராகி வந்து முற்றுகையிட்ட பகைவரை, உள்ளே நின்றவர் இடம்விட்டுப் பெயராமல் நின்று போர் புரிந்து வெல்லும்படி அமைந்ததே அரண்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Howe'er the circling foe may strive access to win,
    A fort should give the victory to those who guard within.
  • Meaning
    That is a fort whose inmates are able to overcome without losing their ground, even abler men who have besieged it.


Post a Comment