Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0747. முற்றியும் முற்றா தெறிந்தும்

0747. Mutriyum Mutraa Therindhum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரணியல் (Araniyal) - Essentials of a State
  • அதிகாரம்
    அரண் (Aran)
    The Fortification
  • குறள்
    முற்றியும் முற்றா தெறிந்தும் அறைப்படுத்தும்
    பற்றற் கரியது அரண்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பகைவர் முற்றுகையிட்டுச் சூழ்ந்தும், அவ்வாறு சூழாது ஒருமுகமாகப் போர்செய்தும், கீழ் அறை அறுத்து உள்ளே நுழைந்தும் கைப்பற்றுதற்கரியதே அரண்.
  • Translation
    in English
    A fort should be impregnable to foes who gird it round,
    Or aim there darts from far, or mine beneath the ground.
  • Meaning
    A fort is that which cannot be captured by blockading, assaulting, or undermining it.


Post a Comment