Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0736. கேடறியாக் கெட்ட இடத்தும்

0736. Kedariyaak Ketta Idaththum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரணியல் (Araniyal) - Essentials of a State
  • அதிகாரம்
    நாடு (Naadu)
    The Land
  • குறள்
    கேடறியாக் கெட்ட இடத்தும் வளங்குன்றா
    நாடென்ப நாட்டின் தலை.
  • விளக்கம்
    பகைவரால் கெடுதல் இல்லாததாகவும், அவ்வாறு ஒருகால் கெட்டாலும் தன் வளம் குறையாததாகவும் உள்ளதே நாடு. இந்நாட்டை, எல்லா நாடுகளையும் விடச் சிறந்தநாடு என்று கூறுவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Chief of all lands is that, where nought disturbs its peace;
    Or, if invaders come, still yields its rich increase.
  • Meaning
    The learned say that the best kingdom is that which knows no evil (from its foes), and, if injured (at all), suffers no diminution in its fruitfulness.


Post a Comment