Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0735. பல்குழுவும் பாழ்செய்யும் உட்பகையும்

0735. Palkuzhuvum Paazhseiyum Utpagaiyum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரணியல் (Araniyal) - Essentials of a State
  • அதிகாரம்
    நாடு (Naadu)
    The Land
  • குறள்
    பல்குழுவும் பாழ்செய்யும் உட்பகையும் வேந்தலைக்கும்
    கொல்குறும்பும் இல்லது நாடு.
  • விளக்கம்
    மாறுபட்ட பல கூடங்களும், உடனிருந்தே பாழ் செய்யும் உட்பகையும், அரசனுக்குத் தொல்லை கொடுக்கும் கொலைத் தொழிளரும் இல்லாததே நாடாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    From factions free, and desolating civil strife, and band
    Of lurking murderers that king afflict, that is the 'land'.
  • Meaning
    A kingdom is that which is without various (irregular) associations, destructive internal enemies, and murderous savages who (sometimes) harass the sovereign.


Post a Comment