Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0569. செருவந்த போழ்திற் சிறைசெய்யா

0569. Seruvandha Pozhthir Siraiseiyaa

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    வெருவந்த செய்யாமை (Veruvandha Seiyaamai)
    Absence of Terrorism
  • குறள்
    செருவந்த போழ்திற் சிறைசெய்யா வேந்தன்
    வெருவந்து வெய்து கெடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    போர் வருவதற்குமுன் தனக்குக் காப்பாக அரண் செய்து கொள்ளாத மன்னவன், போர் வந்த காலத்தில் அஞ்சி விரைவில் கெடுவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who builds no fort whence he may foe defy,
    In time of war shall fear and swiftly die.
  • Meaning
    The king who has not provided himself with a place of defence, will in times of war be seized with fear and quickly perish.


Post a Comment