Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0570. கல்லார்ப் பிணிக்கும் கடுங்கோல்

0570. Kallaarp Pinikkum Kadungkol

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    வெருவந்த செய்யாமை (Veruvandha Seiyaamai)
    Absence of Terrorism
  • குறள்
    கல்லார்ப் பிணிக்கும் கடுங்கோல் அதுவல்லது
    இல்லை நிலக்குப் பொறை.
  • விளக்கம்
    கொடுங்கோல் மன்னன் கல்வியறிவில்லாதவரைத் தனது செயல் செய்வதற்குச் சேர்த்துக் கொள்வான்; அவர்களைத் தாங்குவதைவிட அதிக பாரம் இந்நிலத்துக்கு வேறு இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    Tyrants with fools their counsels share:
    Earth can no heavier burthen bear!
  • Meaning
    The earth bears up no greater burden than ignorant men whom a cruel sceptre attaches to itself (as the ministers of its evil deeds).


Post a Comment