Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0568. இனத்தாற்றி எண்ணாத வேந்தன்

0568. Inaththaatri Ennaatha Vendhan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    வெருவந்த செய்யாமை (Veruvandha Seiyaamai)
    Absence of Terrorism
  • குறள்
    இனத்தாற்றி எண்ணாத வேந்தன் சினத்தாற்றிச்
    சீறிற் சிறுகும் திரு.
  • விளக்கம்
    அமைச்சர் முதலியவரோடு கலந்து ஆலோசிக்காத மன்னன், தவறு நேர்ந்தபோது அவர்களைச் சினந்தானாயின் அவனது செல்வம் சுருங்கிவிடும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who leaves the work to those around, and thinks of it no more;
    If he in wrathful mood reprove, his prosperous days are o'er!
  • Meaning
    The prosperity of that king will waste away, who without reflecting (on his affairs himself), commits them to his ministers, and (when a failure occurs) gives way to anger, and rages against them.


Post a Comment