Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0544. குடிதழீஇக் கோலோச்சும் மாநில

0544. Kudithazhiek Kolochchum Maanila

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    செங்கோன்மை (Sengonmai)
    The Right Sceptre
  • குறள்
    குடிதழீஇக் கோலோச்சும் மாநில மன்னன்
    அடிதழீஇ நிற்கும் உலகு.
  • விளக்கம்
    குடிமக்களை அன்புடன் தழுவிச் செங்கோல் செலுத்துகின்ற பெருநில வேந்தனின் அடிகளை அடைக்கலமாக அடைந்து இவ்வுலகத்து உயிர்கள் யாவும் வாழும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Whose heart embraces subjects all, lord over mighty land
    Who rules, the world his feet embracing stands.
  • Meaning
    The world will constantly embrace the feet of the great king who rules over his subjects with love.


Post a Comment