Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0543. அந்தணர் நூற்கும் அறத்திற்கும்

0543. Andhanar Noorkkum Araththirkkum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    செங்கோன்மை (Sengonmai)
    The Right Sceptre
  • குறள்
    அந்தணர் நூற்கும் அறத்திற்கும் ஆதியாய்
    நின்றது மன்னவன் கோல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    மன்னனது செங்கோல் அந்தணரது நூலுக்கும் அறத்திற்கும் காரணமாக நிலைபெற்றிருப்பதாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Learning and virtue of the sages spring,
    From all-controlling sceptre of the king.
  • Meaning
    The sceptre of the king is the firm support of the Vedas of the Brahmin, and of all virtues therein described.


Post a Comment