Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0545. இயல்புளிக் கோலோச்சும் மன்னவன்

0545. Iyalpulik Kolochchum Mannavan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    செங்கோன்மை (Sengonmai)
    The Right Sceptre
  • குறள்
    இயல்புளிக் கோலோச்சும் மன்னவன் நாட்ட
    பெயலும் விளையுளும் தொக்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    முறைப்படி செங்கோல் செலுத்தும் மன்னனது நாட்டில், பருவ மழையும், குறையாத விளைபொருளும் ஒருங்கே உள்ளனவாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Where king, who righteous laws regards, the sceptre wields,
    There fall the showers, there rich abundance crowns the fields.
  • Meaning
    Rain and plentiful crops will ever dwell together in the country of the king who sways his sceptre with justice.


Post a Comment