Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0209. தன்னைத்தான் காதல னாயின்

0209. Thannaiththaan Kaathala Naayin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    தீவினையச்சம் (Theevinaiyachcham)
    Dread of Devil Deeds
  • குறள்
    தன்னைத்தான் காதல னாயின் எனைத்தொன்றும்
    துன்னற்க தீவினைப் பால்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன் தன்னுடைய நலனை விரும்புவானானால், எவ்வளவு சிறிய தீய செயலையும் பிறர்க்குச் செய்யாதிருத்தல் வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Beware, if to thyself thyself is dear,
    Lest thou to aught that ranks as ill draw near!
  • Meaning
    If a man love himself, let him not commit any sin however small.


Post a Comment