Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0208. தீயவை செய்தார் கெடுதல்

0208. Theeyavai Seithaar Keduthal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    தீவினையச்சம் (Theevinaiyachcham)
    Dread of Devil Deeds
  • குறள்
    தீயவை செய்தார் கெடுதல் நிழல்தன்னை
    வீயாது அஇஉறைந் தற்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    பிறர்க்குத் தீய செயலைச் செய்தவர் கெடுதல், ஒருவன் நிழல் அவனை விடாது வந்து அடியில் தங்கிய தன்மை போன்றது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Man's shadow dogs his steps where'er he wends;
    Destruction thus on sinful deeds attends.
  • Meaning
    Destruction will dwell at the heels of those who commit evil even as their shadow that leaves them not.


Post a Comment