Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0210. அருங்கேடன் என்பது அறிக

0210. Arungkeden Enbathu Ariga

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    தீவினையச்சம் (Theevinaiyachcham)
    Dread of Devil Deeds
  • குறள்
    அருங்கேடன் என்பது அறிக மருங்கோடித்
    தீவினை செய்யான் எனின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன் தீயவழியில் சென்று தீய செயல்களைச் செய்யவில்லையென்றால், அவன் ஒருபோதும் கேடு அடையான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The man, to devious way of sin that never turned aside,
    From ruin rests secure, whatever ills betide.
  • Meaning
    Know ye that he is freed from destruction who commits no evil, going to neither side of the right path.


Post a Comment