Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

LINK THIS BLOG (to your webpage)

We welcome and encourage you to place a link of our blog on your Web site. You can choose from the following graphic banners which can be conveniently placed on your website and linked to our blog.

Instructions :

1. Choose the desired graphic banner that fits your webpage.

2. Select code by clicking the respective button "Click here to select below code" of the chosen graphic banner. (works in both Firefox & IE browsers.)

3. Copy the code by using keyboard shortcut "Ctrl + C"

4. Paste the code "Ctrl + V" in your webpage.

Thank you for promoting Agaram Thirukkural, a blog with 1330 kurals in Tamil & English with meanings & Translation.

  • Agaram-Thirukkural

    width : 261px

    height : 50px

  • Agaram-Thirukkural

    width : 150px

    height : 50px

  • Agaram-Thirukkural

    width : 100px

    height : 50px

  • Agaram-Thirukkural

    width : 125px

    height : 125px


Post a Comment