Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1323. புலத்தலின் புத்தேள்நாடு உண்டோ

1323. Pulaththalin Puththelnaadu Undo

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஊடலுவகை (Oodaloovagai)
    The Pleasure of Temporary Variance
  • குறள்
    புலத்தலின் புத்தேள்நாடு உண்டோ நிலத்தொடு
    நீரியைந் தன்னார் அகத்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    நிலத்தோடு நீர் சேர்ந்தாற்போல், ஒற்றுமையுடையவரிடத்துப் பிணங்குதலைவிட இன்பம் தேவருலகத்தில் உண்டோ?
  • Translation
    in English
    Is there a bliss in any world more utterly divine,
    Than 'coyness' gives, when hearts as earth and water join?
  • Meaning
    Is there a celestial land that can please like the feigned dislike of those whose union resembles that of earth and water?


Post a Comment