Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1324. புல்லி விடாஅப் புலவியுள்

1324. Pulli Vidaaap Pulaviyul

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஊடலுவகை (Oodaloovagai)
    The Pleasure of Temporary Variance
  • குறள்
    புல்லி விடாஅப் புலவியுள் தோன்றுமென்
    உள்ளம் உடைக்கும் படை.
  • விளக்கம்
    காதலரைத் தழுவிப் பின் விடாமலிருப்பதற்க்குக் காரணமான பிணக்கத்துள்ளே என் மனத்தை உடைக்கும் ஆயுதம் தோன்றும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'Within the anger feigned' that close love's tie doth bind,
    A weapon lurks, which quite breaks down my mind.
  • Meaning
    In prolonged dislike after an embrace there is a weapon that can break my heart.


Post a Comment