Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1257. நாணென ஒன்றோ அறியலம்

1257. Naanena Ondro Ariyalam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நிறையழிதல் (Niraiyazhithal)
    Reserve Overcome
  • குறள்
    நாணென ஒன்றோ அறியலம் காமத்தால்
    பேணியார் பெட்ப செயின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நம்மால் விரும்பப்பட்டவர், காதலினால் நாம் விரும்பியவற்றைச் செய்வாரானால் நாணம் என்ற ஒன்றை அறிய மாட்டோம்.
  • Translation
    in English
    No sense of shame my gladdened mind shall prove,
    When he returns my longing heart to bless with love.
  • Meaning
    I know nothing like shame when my beloved does from love (just) what is desired (by me).


Post a Comment