Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1258. பன்மாயக் கள்வன் பணிமொழி

1258. Panmaayak Kalvan Panimozhi

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நிறையழிதல் (Niraiyazhithal)
    Reserve Overcome
  • குறள்
    பன்மாயக் கள்வன் பணிமொழி அன்றோநம்
    பெண்மை உடைக்கும் படை.
  • விளக்கம்
    நமது மன அடக்கத்தை உடைக்கின்ற ஆயுதம், பல பொய் பேசவல்ல காதலனான கள்வனுடைய தாழ்ந்த சொற்களல்லவா?
  • Translation
    in English
    The words of that deceiver, versed in every wily art,
    Are instruments that break through every guard of woman's heart!
  • Meaning
    Are not the enticing words of my trick-abounding roguish lover the weapon that breaks away my feminine firmness?


Post a Comment