Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1230. பொருள்மாலை யாளரை உள்ளி

1230. Porulmaalai Yaalarai Ulli

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    பொழுதுகண்டு இரங்கல் (Pozhuthukandu Irangal)
    Lamentations at Eventide
  • குறள்
    பொருள்மாலை யாளரை உள்ளி மருள்மாலை
    மாயும்என் மாயா உயிர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    இதுவரையில் இரவாதிருந்த என் உயிர், இம் மயங்கும் மாலைப் பொழுதில், பொருள் ஈட்ட விரும்பிச் சென்றவரை நினைத்து இறந்துவிடும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    This darkening eve, my darkling soul must perish utterly;
    Remembering him who seeks for wealth, but seeks not me.
  • Meaning
    My (hitherto) unextinguished life is now lost in this bewildering night at the thought of him who has the nature of wealth.


Post a Comment