Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1229. பதிமருண்டு பைதல் உழக்கும்

1229. Pathimarundu Paithal Uzhakkum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    பொழுதுகண்டு இரங்கல் (Pozhuthukandu Irangal)
    Lamentations at Eventide
  • குறள்
    பதிமருண்டு பைதல் உழக்கும் மதிமருண்டு
    மாலை படர்தரும் போழ்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    நான் மதி மயங்கும்படி மாலைக் காலம் பரவி வரும்போது, இவ்வூரில் உள்ளவர்களெல்லாரும் மயங்கித் துன்பத்தை அனுபவிப்பர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    If evening's shades, that darken all my soul, extend;
    From this afflicted town will would of grief ascend.
  • Meaning
    When night comes on confusing (everyone's) mind, the (whole) town will lose its sense and be plunged in sorrow.


Post a Comment