Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1214. கனவினான் உண்டாகும் காமம்

1214. Kanavinaan Undaagum Kaamam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    கனவுநிலை உரைத்தல் (Kanavunilai Uraiththal)
    The Visions of the Night
  • குறள்
    கனவினான் உண்டாகும் காமம் நனவினான்
    நல்காரை நாடித் தரற்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    நனவில் வந்து அருள் செய்யாதவரைக் கனவு தேடிக் கொண்டு வந்து தருதலால், அக்கனவில் எனக்கு இன்பம் உண்டாகிறது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Some pleasure I enjoy when him who loves not me
    In waking hours, the vision searches out and makes me see.
  • Meaning
    There is pleasure in my dream, because in it I seek and obtain him who does not visit me in my wakefulness.


Post a Comment