Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1213. நனவினால் நல்கா தவரைக்

1213. Nanavinaal Nalkaa Thavaraik

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    கனவுநிலை உரைத்தல் (Kanavunilai Uraiththal)
    The Visions of the Night
  • குறள்
    நனவினால் நல்கா தவரைக் கனவினால்
    காண்டலின் உண்டென் உயிர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நனவில் வந்து அருள் செய்யாதவரைக் கனவில் காணுதலால்தான் என் உயிர் இருக்கின்றது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Him, who in waking hour no kindness shows,
    In dreams I see; and so my lifetime goes!
  • Meaning
    My life lasts because in my dream I behold him who does not favour me in my waking hours.


Post a Comment