Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1045. நல்குரவு என்னும் இடும்பையுள்

1045. Nalkuravu Ennum Idumbaiyul

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    நல்குரவு (Nalkuravu)
  • குறள்
    நல்குரவு என்னும் இடும்பையுள் பல்குரைத்
    துன்பங்கள் சென்று படும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    வறுமை என்று சொல்லப்படும் துன்பத்துள் பலவகைப்பட்ட துன்பங்களும் வந்து சேரும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    From poverty, that grievous woe,
    Attendant sorrows plenteous grow.
  • Meaning
    The misery of poverty brings in its train many (more) miseries.


Post a Comment