Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1007. அற்றார்க்கொன்று ஆற்றாதான் செல்வம்

1007. Atraarkkondru Aatraathaan Selvam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    நன்றியில் செல்வம் (Nandriyil Selvam)
    Wealth Without Benefaction
  • குறள்
    அற்றார்க்கொன்று ஆற்றாதான் செல்வம் மிகநலம்
    பெற்றாள் தமியள்மூத் தற்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    வறியவர்க்கு ஒன்றைக் கொடுக்காதவனது செல்வம், மிக்க அழகுடைய பெண், மணம் செய்து கொள்ளாமல் தனியளாக இருந்து முதுமை அடைந்தது போலாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Like woman fair in lonelihood who aged grows,
    Is wealth of him on needy men who nought bestows.
  • Meaning
    The wealth of him who never bestows anything on the destitute is like a woman of beauty growing old without a husband.


Post a Comment