Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1006. ஏதம் பெருஞ்செல்வம் தான்துவ்வான்

1006. Yedham Perunjchelvam Thaanthuvvaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    நன்றியில் செல்வம் (Nandriyil Selvam)
    Wealth Without Benefaction
  • குறள்
    ஏதம் பெருஞ்செல்வம் தான்துவ்வான் தக்கார்க்கொன்று
    ஈதல் இயல்பிலா தான்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தானும் அனுபவிக்காதவனாகிப் பிறர்க்கும் ஒரு பொருள் கொடுக்கும் இயல்பு இல்லாதவனது பெருஞ்செல்வம் ஒரு நோயாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Their ample wealth is misery to men of churlish heart,
    Who nought themselves enjoy, and nought to worthy men impart.
  • Meaning
    He who enjoys not (his riches) nor relieves the wants of the worthy is a disease to his wealth.


Post a Comment