Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0869. செறுவார்க்குச் சேணிகவா இன்பம்

0869. Seruvaarkkuch Chenikavaa Inbam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பகைமாட்சி (Pagaimaatchi)
    The Might of Hatred
  • குறள்
    செறுவார்க்குச் சேணிகவா இன்பம் அறிவிலா
    அஞ்சும் பகைவர்ப் பெறின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நீதி அறியாது அஞ்சும் பகைவரைப் பெற்றால் அவரை எதிர்த்துப் பகைகொள்ளுவோர்க்கு உயர்ந்த இன்பங்கள் நீங்காது நிற்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The joy of victory is never far removed from those
    Who've luck to meet with ignorant and timid foes.
  • Meaning
    There will be no end of lofty delights to the victorious, if their foes are (both) ignorant and timid.


Post a Comment