Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0870. கல்லான் வெகுளும் சிறுபொருள்

0870. Kallaan Vegulum Siruporul

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பகைமாட்சி (Pagaimaatchi)
    The Might of Hatred
  • குறள்
    கல்லான் வெகுளும் சிறுபொருள் எஞ்ஞான்றும்
    ஒல்லானை ஒல்லா தொளி.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறிவில்லாதவனை எதிர்த்துப் போர் செய்யும் சிறு முயிற்சியால் பொருளைப் பெறாதவனை, எக்காலத்தும் புகழ் அடையாது.
  • Translation
    in English
    The task of angry war with men unlearned in virtue's lore
    Who will not meet, glory shall meet him never more.
  • Meaning
    The light (of fame) will never be gained by him who gains not the trifling reputation of having fought an unlearned (foe).


Post a Comment