Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0779. இழைத்தது இகவாமைச் சாவாரை

0779. Izhaiththathu Igavaamaich Chaavaarai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    படையியல் (Padaiyiyal) - Army
  • அதிகாரம்
    படைச் செருக்கு (Padaich Cherukku)
    Military Spirit
  • குறள்
    இழைத்தது இகவாமைச் சாவாரை யாரே
    பிழைத்தது ஒறுக்கிற் பவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தாம் கூறிய சபதம் தப்பாமல் சென்று இறக்கவல்ல வீரரை, அது தப்பியவிதம் சொல்லி இகழ்பவர் யார்?
  • Translation
    in English
    Who says they err, and visits them scorn,
    Who die and faithful guard the vow they've sworn?
  • Meaning
    Who would reproach with failure those who seal their oath with their death ?


Post a Comment