Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0724. கற்றார்முன் கற்ற செலச்சொல்லித்

0724. Katraarmun Katra Selachchollith

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    அவை அஞ்சாமை (Avai Anjaamai)
    Not to Dread the Council
  • குறள்
    கற்றார்முன் கற்ற செலச்சொல்லித் தாம்கற்ற
    மிக்காருள் மிக்க கொளல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    கற்றோர் உள்ள அவையில் தாம் கற்றவற்றை அவர்கள் ஏற்றுக் கொள்ளுமாறு சொல்லித் தாம் கற்றவற்றைவிட அதிகமான பொருளை அதிகமாகக் கற்றவரிடத்தில் அறிந்து கொள்ளுதல் வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    What you have learned, in penetrating words speak out before
    The learn'd; but learn what men more learn'd can teach you more.
  • Meaning
    (Ministers) should agreeably set forth their acquirements before the learned and acquire more (knowledge) from their superiors (in learning).


Post a Comment