Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0709. பகைமையும் கேண்மையும் கண்ணுரைக்கும்

0709. Pagaimaiyum Kenmaiyum Kannuraikkum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    குறிப்பறிதல் (Kuripparithal)
    The Knowledge of Indications
  • குறள்
    பகைமையும் கேண்மையும் கண்ணுரைக்கும் கண்ணின்
    வகைமை உணர்வார்ப் பெறின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    கண்களின் குறிப்பு வகைகளை அறிய வல்லவரைப் பெற்றால், பிறர் மனத்திலுள்ள பகைத் தன்மையையும் நட்புத் தன்மையையும் அவர்களின் கண்களே தெரிவித்துவிடும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The eye speaks out the hate or friendly soul of man;
    To those who know the eye's swift varying moods to scan.
  • Meaning
    If a king gets ministers who can read the movements of the eye, the eyes (of foreign kings) will (themselves) reveal (to him) their hatred or friendship.


Post a Comment