Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0710. நுண்ணியம் என்பார் அளக்குங்கோல்

0710. Nunniyam Enbaar Alakkungkol

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    குறிப்பறிதல் (Kuripparithal)
    The Knowledge of Indications
  • குறள்
    நுண்ணியம் என்பார் அளக்குங்கோல் காணுங்கால்
    கண்ணல்லது இல்லை பிற.
  • விளக்கம்
    நுட்பமான அறிவுடையவர் என்றிருக்கும் அமைச்சர், அரசனது கருத்தை அளக்கும் கோலாவது, அராயுங்கால் அவனது கண்களேயன்றி வேறு இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    The men of keen discerning soul no other test apply
    (When you their secret ask) than man's revealing eye.
  • Meaning
    The measuring-rod of those (ministers) who say "we are acute" will on inquiry be found to be their (own) eyes and nothing else.


Post a Comment