Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0690. இறுதி பயப்பினும் எஞ்சாது

0690. Iruthi Payappinum Enjaathu

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    தூது (Thoothu)
    The Envoy
  • குறள்
    இறுதி பயப்பினும் எஞ்சாது இறைவற்கு
    உறுதி பயப்பதாம் தூது.
  • விளக்கம்
    தான் சொல்லுவது தனக்கு முடிவைத் தருமாயினும், அதற்கு அஞ்சாது, தன் அரசனுக்கு நன்மை தரக்கூடியதைச் சொல்பவனே தூதன்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Death to the faithful one his embassy may bring;
    To envoy gains assured advantage for his king.
  • Meaning
    He is the ambassador who fearlessly seeks his sovereign's good though it should cost him his life (to deliver his message).


Post a Comment