Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0689. விடுமாற்றம் வேந்தர்க்கு உரைப்பான்

0689. Vidumaatram Vendharkku Uraippaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    தூது (Thoothu)
    The Envoy
  • குறள்
    விடுமாற்றம் வேந்தர்க்கு உரைப்பான் வடுமாற்றம்
    வாய்சேரா வன்கணவன்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தன் அரசன் சொன்ன சொல்லை வேற்று அரசரிடம் சென்று சொல்வதற்கு உரியவன், தனக்கு வரும் துன்பத்துக்கு அஞ்சித் தாழ்வான சொல்லை வாய் தவறியும் சொல்லாத உறுதியுடையவனாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    His faltering lips must utter no unworthy thing,
    Who stands, with steady eye, to speak the mandates of his king.
  • Meaning
    He alone is fit to communicate (his sovereign's) reply, who possesses the firmness not to utter even inadvertently what may reflect discredit (on the latter).


Post a Comment