Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0659. அழக்கொண்ட எல்லாம் அழப்போம்

0659. Azhakkonda Ellaam Azhappom

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    வினைத்தூய்மை (Vinaiththooimai)
    Purity in Action
  • குறள்
    அழக்கொண்ட எல்லாம் அழப்போம் இழப்பினும்
    பிற்பயக்கும் நற்பா லவை.
  • விளக்கம்
    பிறர் அழுது வருந்தும்படி ஒருவன் கொண்ட பொருள், அவனும் அவ்வாறே அழுது வருந்தும்படி போய்விடும். நல்வழியில் வந்த பொருளை முன் இழந்தாலும், அது பின் வந்து பயன் கொடுக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    What's gained through tears with tears shall go;
    From loss good deeds entail harvests of blessings grow.
  • Meaning
    All that has been obtained with tears (to the victim) will depart with tears (to himself); but what has been by fair means; though with loss at first, will afterwards yield fruit.


Post a Comment