Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0658. கடிந்த கடிந்தொரார் செய்தார்க்கு

0658. Kadindha Kadinthoraar Seithaarkku

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    வினைத்தூய்மை (Vinaiththooimai)
    Purity in Action
  • குறள்
    கடிந்த கடிந்தொரார் செய்தார்க்கு அவைதாம்
    முடிந்தாலும் பீழை தரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பெரியோர் விலக்கியவற்றைத் தாமும் விலக்காமல் செய்தவர்க்கு, அவை ஒருவாறு முடிந்தனவாயினும் பின்பு துன்பம் தரும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    To those who hate reproof and do forbidden thing.
    What prospers now, in after days shall anguish bring.
  • Meaning
    The actions of those, who have not desisted from doing deeds forbidden (by the great), will, even if they succeed, cause them sorrow.


Post a Comment