Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0586. துறந்தார் படிவத்த ராகி

0586. Thuranthaar Padivaththa Raagi

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஒற்றாடல் (Otraadal)
  • குறள்
    துறந்தார் படிவத்த ராகி இறந்தாராய்ந்து
    என்செயினும் சோர்விலது ஒற்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    துறவிபோல் வேடமிட்டும், விரத ஒழுக்கத்தவர் போல் வேடம் பூண்டும், செல்லக் கூடாத இடங்களிலெல்லாம் சென்று ஆராய்ந்து அறிந்து, தனக்கு என்ன துன்பத்தைச் செய்து கேட்டாலும் அதை வெளிப்படுத்தாதவனே ஒற்றனாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    As monk or devotee, through every hindrance making way,
    A spy, whate'er men do, must watchful mind display.
  • Meaning
    He is a spy who, assuming the appearance of an ascetic, goes into (whatever place he wishes), examines into (all, that is needful), and never discovers himself, whatever may be done to him.


Post a Comment