Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0585. கடாஅ உருவொடு கண்ணஞ்சாது

0585. Kadaaa Uruvodu Kannanjaathu

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஒற்றாடல் (Otraadal)
  • குறள்
    கடாஅ உருவொடு கண்ணஞ்சாது யாண்டும்
    உகாஅமை வல்லதே ஒற்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஐயப்படாத உருவத்தினோடு, எவருடைய பார்வைக்கும் அஞ்சாமல், எந்த இடத்திலும் தன் மனத்திலுள்ளதை வெளிப்படுத்தாத வல்லமையுடையவனே ஒற்றனாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Of unsuspected mien and all-unfearing eyes,
    Who let no secret out, are trusty spies.
  • Meaning
    A spy is one who is able to assume an appearance which may create no suspicion (in the minds of others), who fears no man's face, and who never reveals (his purpose).


Post a Comment