Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0502. குடிப்பிறந்து குற்றத்தின் நீங்கி

0502. Kudippirandhu Kutraththin Neengi

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    தெரிந்து தெளிதல் (Therindhu Thelithal)
    Selection and Confidence
  • குறள்
    குடிப்பிறந்து குற்றத்தின் நீங்கி வடுப்பரியும்
    நாணுடையான் சுட்டே தெளிவு.
  • விளக்கம்
    உயர்ந்த குடியில் பிறந்து, குற்றங்களிலிருந்து நீங்கித் தனக்குப் பழி என்று அஞ்சி நிற்கும் நாணமுடையவனிடத்தில் அரசனது நம்பிக்கை இருக்க வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Of noble race, of faultless worth, of generous pride
    That shrinks from shame or stain; in him may king confide.
  • Meaning
    (The king's) choice should (fall) on him, who is of good family, who is free from faults, and who has the modesty which fears the wounds (of sin).


Post a Comment