Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0501. அறம்பொருள் இன்பம் உயிரச்சம்

0501. Aramporul Inbam Uyirachcham

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    தெரிந்து தெளிதல் (Therindhu Thelithal)
    Selection and Confidence
  • குறள்
    அறம்பொருள் இன்பம் உயிரச்சம் நான்கின்
    திறந்தெரிந்து தேறப் படும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறம், பொருள் ஆசை, காம இச்சை, தன் உயிருக்காக அஞ்சும் அச்சம் என்னும் நான்கினாலும் ஒருவனது மனநிலையை நன்கு சோதித்து, அவனிடத்தில் அரசன் நம்பிக்கை கொள்ள வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    How treats he virtue, wealth and pleasure? How, when life's at stake,
    Comports himself? This four-fold test of man will full assurance make.
  • Meaning
    Let (a minister) be chosen, after he has been tried by means of these four things, viz,-his virtue, (love of) money, (love of) sexual pleasure, and tear of (losing) life.


Post a Comment