Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0480. உளவரை தூக்காத ஒப்புர

0480. Ulavarai Thookkaatha Oppura

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    வலியறிதல் (Valiyaridhal)
    The Knowledge of Power
  • குறள்
    உளவரை தூக்காத ஒப்புர வாண்மை
    வளவரை வல்லைக் கெடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தன் பொருளின் அளவை அறிந்து வாழத் தெரியாதவனின் வாழ்க்கை, உள்ளது போலத் தோன்றி, பின்னர் இல்லாமல் மறைந்து விடும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Beneficence that measures not its bound of means,
    Will swiftly bring to nought the wealth on which it leans.
  • Meaning
    The measure of his wealth will quickly perish, whose liberality weighs not the measure of his property.


Post a Comment