Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0427. அறிவுடையார் ஆவ தறிவார்

0427. Arivudaiyaar Aava Tharivaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    அறிவுடைமை (Arivudaimai)
    The Possession of King
  • குறள்
    அறிவுடையார் ஆவ தறிவார் அறிவிலார்
    அஃதறி கல்லா தவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறிவுடையவர் பின் வரக்கூடியதை முன் அறிய வல்லார்; அதனை முன் அறிய மாட்டாதவர் அறிவில்லாதவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The wise discern, the foolish fail to see,
    And minds prepare for things about to be.
  • Meaning
    The wise are those who know beforehand what will happen; those who do not know this are the unwise.


Post a Comment