Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0428. அஞ்சுவ தஞ்சாமை பேதைமை

0428. Anjuva Thanjaamai Pethaimai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    அறிவுடைமை (Arivudaimai)
    The Possession of King
  • குறள்
    அஞ்சுவ தஞ்சாமை பேதைமை அஞ்சுவது
    அஞ்சல் அறிவார் தொழில்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அஞ்ச வேண்டிய பழி பாவங்களுக்கு அஞ்சாமல் இருப்பது அறிவில்லாமை; அச்சப்பட வேண்டியவற்றிற்கு அச்சப்படுதல் அறிவுடையோர் செயலாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Folly meets fearful ills with fearless heart;
    To fear where cause of fear exists is wisdom's part.
  • Meaning
    Not to fear what ought to be feared, is folly; it is the work of the wise to fear what should be feared.


Post a Comment