Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0408. நல்லார்கண் பட்ட வறுமையின்

0408. Nallaarkan Patta Varumaiyin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கல்லாமை (Kallaamai)
  • குறள்
    நல்லார்கண் பட்ட வறுமையின் இன்னாதே
    கல்லார்கண் பட்ட திரு.
  • விளக்கம்
    கற்றவரிடத்தில் உண்டான வருமையைவிடக் கல்லாதவனிடத்தில் உண்டான செல்வம் மிக்க துன்பத்தைக் கொடுக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    To men unlearned, from fortune's favour greater-evil springs
    Than poverty to men of goodly wisdom brings.
  • Meaning
    Wealth, gained by the unlearned, will give more sorrow than the poverty which may come upon the learned.


Post a Comment