Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0394. உவப்பத் தலைக்கூடி உள்ளப்

0394. Uvappath Thalaikkoodi Ullap

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கல்வி (Kalvi)
  • குறள்
    உவப்பத் தலைக்கூடி உள்ளப் பிரிதல்
    அனைத்தே புலவர் தொழில்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பிறர் மகிழுமாறு அவர்களோடு கூடியிருந்து, பின்னர், 'இவரை எப்போது காண்போம்' என்று நினைக்குமாறு பிரிதலே கற்றறிந்தாரது செயலாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    You meet with joy, with pleasant thought you part;
    Such is the learned scholar's wonderous art!
  • Meaning
    It is the part of the learned to give joy to those whom they meet, and on leaving, to make them think
    (Oh! when shall we meet them again.)


Post a Comment