Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0367. அவாவினை ஆற்ற அறுப்பின்

0367. Avaavinai Aatra Aruppin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    அவா அறுத்தல் (Avaa Aruththal)
    The Extirpation of Desire
  • குறள்
    அவாவினை ஆற்ற அறுப்பின் தவாவினை
    தான்வேண்டு மாற்றான் வரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன் அவாவை முழுதும் ஒழிக்கவள்ளவனானால், அவன் கேடாமைகுக் காரணமாகிய செயல் அவன் விரும்பும் படியே உண்டாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who thoroughly rids his life of passion-prompted deed,
    Deeds of unfailing worth shall do, which, as he plans, succeed.
  • Meaning
    If a man thoroughly cut off all desire, the deeds, which confer immortality, will come to him, in the path in which he seeks them.


Post a Comment